SHared automation Operating models for Worldwide adoption

SHOW is the biggest and most holisitic ever real life CCAV (connected cooperative autonomous vehicle) urban demonstration initiative taking place in 20 cities across Europe.

The aim of SHOW is to support a way towards sustainable urban transport with automated vehicles by means of technical solutions, business models and impact analyses. The deployment of connected, cooperative, electrified fleets of autonomous vehicles in coordinated Public Transport (PT), Demand Responsive Transport (DRT), Mobility as a Service (MaaS) and Logistics as a Service (LaaS) operational chains will be demonstrated in real-life urban environments in five Mega, six Satellite and three Follower Pilots.
By deploying a fleet of 74 SAE Level 4 automated vehicles of all kinds (buses, shuttles, pods, robo-taxis, automated vehicles in combination with MaaS and freight vehicles) used for passenger, freight and mixed traffic and connected to a variety of supporting infrastructures (5G, G5, IoT, etc.), the project aims to satisfy all urban automated mobility needs of users.
This project is realised by a consortium of 69 partners, six third parties and with the additional support of 60 stakeholders as well as twinning actions with eleven organisations in the US, South Korea, Australia, China, Taiwan and Singapore.

Megasite Austria

Austria is one of the five so-called mega sites where pilot tests will be carried out. The pilots will last 12 months, during which a total of more than 1.5 million people and 350,000 goods will be transported by the automated vehicles. The Austrian site consists of the three cities Salzburg, Graz and Vienna and is coordinated by AustriaTech.

Salzburg Pilot

Salzburg Research is responsible for the design and implementation of the pilot project in Salzburg, which is aimed at the user groups of commuters and city residents, day-trippers and tourists. Based on the experiences from the Digibus® Austria project, the pilot in Salzburg pursues the goal of testing an automated on-demand transport (automated DRT) to connect rural regions to intermodal mobility nodes in order to better bridge the first and last mile in public transport. The challenges in testing an automated DRT include topics such as MaaS integration, self-learning algorithms, seamless integration with automated and non-automated public transport, and C-ITS support for higher levels of automation.

SHared automation Operating models for Worldwide adoption

SHOW ist das größte und ganzheitlichste Demonstrationsprojekt von CCAV (Connected Cooperative Autonomous Vehicle), das je in Angriff genommen wurde. In ganz Europa beteiligen sich 20 Städte.

Das Ziel von SHOW ist es, einen Weg zu einem nachhaltigen, städtischen Verkehr mit automatisierten Fahrzeugen durch technische Lösungen, Geschäftsmodelle und Wirkungsanalysen aufzuzeigen und zu unterstützen. Der Einsatz vernetzter, kooperativer, elektrifizierter Flotten von autonomen Fahrzeugen in koordinierten Betriebsketten des öffentlichen Verkehrs (PT), des bedarfsgesteuerten Verkehrs (DRT), der Mobilität als Dienstleistung (MaaS) und der Logistik als Dienstleistung (LaaS) wird in realen städtischen Umgebungen in fünf Mega-, sechs Satelliten- und drei Follower-Piloten demonstriert.
Es wird insgesamt eine Flotte von 74 automatisierten Fahrzeugen auf SAE-Level 4 aller Art (Busse, Shuttles, Pods, Robo-Taxis, automatisierte Fahrzeuge in Verbindung mit MaaS und Frachtfahrzeuge) im Personen-, Fracht- und Mischverkehr zum Einsatz kommen. Diese sind mit einer Vielzahl von unterstützenden Infrastrukturen (5G, G5, IoT, etc.) verbunden und zielen darauf ab, alle städtischen automatisierten Mobilitätsbedürfnisse der NutzerInnen zu befriedigen.
Das Projekt wird von einem Konsortium von 69 PartnernInnen, sechs Drittparteien und mit der zusätzlichen Unterstützung von 60 InteressenvertreterInnen sowie durch Partnerschaftsaktionen mit elf Organisationen in den USA, Südkorea, Australien, China, Taiwan und Singapur durchgeführt.

Megasite Österreich

Österreich ist eine der fünf sogenannten Megasites, an denen es Pilotversuche geben wird. Die Piloten haben eine Dauer von zwölf Monaten, in denen insgesamt mehr als 1,5 Millionen Personen und 350.000 Güter mit den automatisierten Fahrzeugen transportiert werden sollen. Der Standort Österreich besteht aus den drei Städten Salzburg, Graz und Wien und wird von der AustriaTech koordiniert.

Salzburg Pilot

Salzburg Research ist für die Konzipierung und Durchführung des Pilotversuchs in Salzburg zuständig, der sich an die NutzerInnengruppen der PendlerInnen und StadtbewohnerInnen, der TagesausflüglerInnen sowie an TouristInnen richtet. Aufbauend auf den Erfahrungen aus dem Projekt Digibus® Austria verfolgt der Pilot in Salzburg das Ziel, einen automatisierten Bedarfsverkehr (automatisierter DRT) zur Anbindung von ländlichen Regionen an intermodale Mobilitätsknotenpunkte zu erproben, um damit die erste und letzte Meile im öffentlichen Verkehr besser überbrücken zu können. Zu den Herausforderungen beim Testen eines automatisierten DRT gehören Themen wie die MaaS-Integration, selbstlernende Algorithmen, die nahtlose Integration mit dem automatisierten und nicht automatisierten ÖPNV sowie die C-ITS-Unterstützung für höhere Automatisierungsgrade.