Feasibility Study: Textbooks as Open Educational Resources (OER) - Salzburg Research Forschungsgesellschaft

Feasibility Study: Textbooks as Open Educational Resources (OER)

2018-01-10:

Are the textbooks of the future freely accessible to all? A study published in November 2017 on OER textbooks in Austria, conducted under the auspices of the Salzburg Research Forschungsgesellschaft, shows the chances and risks of switching the system to OER textbooks.

“OER” has established itself in recent years, also in German-speaking countries, as an abbreviation for “Open Educational Resources” (English for open educational resources). These are understood as learning and teaching materials that have been expressly released for use, modification and republication with the help of a so-called “open license”. In times of increasing digitization, such learning and educational resources are becoming increasingly important. “The challenge, however, is less in the technical possibility of digitizing textbooks, but in existing copyright law, which severely restricts the legal use of textbooks – even their non-digital use”, says study director and educational scientist Sandra Schön from Salzburg Research.

Will Open Educational Resources revolutionize learning?

OER textbooks are expected to have an indirect positive impact on the conditions and opportunities for learning and teaching, as well as the growth of knowledge and capacity building of students. In addition, they use digital teaching materials to create a variety of creative freedom for innovative pedagogy.

The feasibility study describes six scenarios for OER textbooks in Austria, based on possible activities of the relevant Austrian federal ministries:

  • Scenario A: No changes in the textbook activities of the participating Austrian ministries
  • Scenario B: Successive completion of the textbook offering through OER textbooks and other OER materials funded by the ministries
  • Scenario C: (Additional) Incentivating the development of OER textbooks through public billing based on user surveys
  • Scenario D: OER textbooks as “Common Option”
  • Scenario E: Complete switch to OER textbooks by linking school textbook admittance to OER clause
  • Scenario F: Complete switch to OER textbooks through public tenders

About the study

The study was published by the Salzburg Research Forschungsgesellschaft mbH carried out in cooperation with the University of Innsbruck and the Technical University of Graz on behalf of the Federal Chancellery and the Federal Ministry of Education.

The study is available for free download: https://srfg.at/oer-schulbuch (in German)

Contact person

Sandra Schön
T: +43/662/2288-429,
Salzburg Research Forschungsgesellschaft mbH
Jakob Haringer Straße 5/3, A-5020 Salzburg

Machbarkeitsstudie: Schulbücher als Open Educational Resources (OER) - Salzburg Research Forschungsgesellschaft

Machbarkeitsstudie: Schulbücher als Open Educational Resources (OER)

2018-01-10:

Sind die Schulbücher der Zukunft für alle frei zugänglich? Eine im November 2017 veröffentlichte Studie zu OER-Schulbüchern in Österreich, durchgeführt unter der Leitung der Salzburg Research Forschungsgesellschaft, zeigt die Chancen und Risiken von einer Umstellung des Systems zu OER-Schulbüchern.

„OER“ hat sich in den letzten Jahren, auch im deutschsprachigen Raum, als Abkürzung für „Open Educational Resources“ (engl. für offene Bildungsressourcen) etabliert. Darunter werden Lern- und Lehrmaterialien verstanden, die ausdrücklich mit Hilfe einer sogenannten „offenen Lizenz“ für die Nutzung, Modifikation und Wiederveröffentlichung freigegeben wurden. In Zeiten zunehmender Digitalisierung werden solche Lern- und Bildungsressourcen immer wichtiger. „Die Herausforderung besteht aber weniger in der technischen Möglichkeit der Digitalisierung von Schulbüchern, sondern im geltenden Urheberrecht, das die legale Nutzung von Schulbüchern – auch deren nichtdigitale Nutzung – stark einschränkt“, sagt Studienleiterin und Erziehungswissenschafterin Sandra Schön von Salzburg Research.

Werden Open Educational Resources das Lernen revolutionieren?

Von OER-Schulbüchern wird erwartet, dass sie sich mittelbar positiv auf die Bedingungen, Gelegenheiten und Möglichkeiten des Lernens und Lehrens und damit auch auf den Wissenszuwachs und Kompetenzaufbau von Schülerinnen und Schülern auswirken. Zudem eröffnen sie mithilfe digitaler Unterrichtsmaterialien vielfältige Gestaltungsspielräume für innovative Pädagogik.

In der Machbarkeitsstudie werden sechs Szenarien für OER-Schulbücher in Österreich beschrieben, ausgehend von möglichen Aktivitäten der zuständigen Österreichischen Bundesministerien:

  • Szenario A: Keine Veränderungen der Schulbuchaktivitäten der beteiligten österreichischen Bundesministerien
  • Szenario B: Sukzessive Ergänzung des Schulbuchangebots durch OER-Schulbücher und weiterer OER-Materialien mit Finanzierung durch die Ministerien
  • Szenario C: (Zusätzliche) Incentivierung der Entwicklung von OER-Schulbüchern durch öffentliche Gratifizierung auf Basis von Nutzungserhebungen
  • Szenario D: OER-Schulbücher als „Common Option“
  • Szenario E: Kompletter Umstieg auf OER-Schulbücher durch Koppelung der Zulassung von Schulbüchern an OER-Klausel
  • Szenario F: Kompletter Umstieg auf OER-Schulbücher durch öffentliche Ausschreibungen

Über die Studie

Die Studie wurde von der Salzburg Research Forschungsgesellschaft m.B.H. in Kooperation mit der Universität Innsbruck und der Technischen Universität Graz im Auftrag des Bundeskanzleramts und des Bundesministeriums für Bildung durchgeführt.

Die Studie steht zum kostenlosen Download bereit: https://srfg.at/oer-schulbuch

Ansprechperson

Sandra Schön
T: +43/662/2288-429,
Salzburg Research Forschungsgesellschaft mbH
Jakob Haringer Straße 5/3, A-5020 Salzburg