EMotion: Electric Mobility in L-Category Vehicles for all generations

The required reduction of CO2 emissions requires alternative mobility concepts – especially in rural and suburban areas. Within the project EMotion, Salzburg Research, together with well-known project partners, is developing new possibilities in the field of light electric mobility. In particular, commuters could use this technology to get to work in an environmentally friendly and cost-effective way.

Electric mopeds have so far mainly been designed for inner-city traffic. Especially for commuters in rural or suburban areas their range is not sufficient. New products are to close the existing gap between electric mopeds and motorcycles. This should make a significant contribution to achieving the emission reduction targets set in the Austrian Climate and Energy Strategy.
The challenges lie not only in the areas of mechanics (weight reduction and range maximisation) and electronics (drive and battery system including control electronics) but also in human-machine interaction: Innovative on-board information and interaction concepts should go beyond conventional switch and button-based operations. The interaction between vehicle and driver shall be improved, among other things, by means of functional textiles. In addition, drivers are to be motivated to drive in a sustainable and energy-optimised manner.
Salzburg Research is responsible for two focal points in the research project: Together with the Würzburg Institute of Transportation Sciences, we are investigating the needs and acceptance of users with regard to these new electric powered two-wheelers and the associated potential for interaction with the two-wheeler. In addition, we are organising and evaluating an 8-month field test in which users will test the newly developed electric powered two-wheelers and determine their potential.

EMotion: Electric Mobility in L-Category Vehicles for all generations

Die geforderte Verringerung der CO2-Emissionen erfordert alternative Mobilitätskonzepte – speziell im ländlichen und stadtnahen Bereich. Salzburg Research erarbeitet im Projekt EMotion gemeinsam mit KTM Technologies, KTM AG und KISKA und weiteren Partner/-innen neue Möglichkeiten im Bereich leichter Elektromobilität. Insbesondere Berufspendler/-innen könnten damit den Arbeitsweg umweltschonend und kostengünstig bewältigen.

E-Mopeds sind bisher vorwiegend für den innerstädtischen Verkehr ausgelegt. Speziell für Pendler/-innen im ländlichen oder stadtnahen Bereich ist deren Reichweite jedoch nicht ausreichend. Neue Produkte sollen die bestehende Lücke zwischen elektrischen Mopeds und Motorrädern schließen. Damit soll ein wesentlicher Beitrag zur Erreichung der in der österreichischen Klima- und Energiestrategie gesteckten Ziele zur Emissionsverringerung geleistet werden.
Die Herausforderungen liegen neben den Bereichen Mechanik (Gewichtsreduktion und Reichweitenmaximierung) und Elektronik (Antriebs- und Batteriesystem samt Steuerungselektronik) auch in der Mensch-Maschine-Interaktion: Innovative Bordinformations- und -interaktionskonzepte sollen über die herkömmliche schalter- und knopfbasierte Bedienung hinausgehen. Die Interaktion zwischen Fahrzeug und Fahrer/-in soll u.a. auch über funktionale Textilien verbessert werden. Außerdem sollen Fahrer/-innen zu nachhaltigem und energieoptimiertem Fahren motiviert werden.
Salzburg Research ist für zwei Schwerpunkte im Forschungsvorhaben verantwortlich: Wir erheben gemeinsam mit dem Würzburger Institut für Verkehrswissenschaften die Bedürfnisse und die Akzeptanz der Nutzer/-innen in Bezug auf diese neuen Elektro-Zweiräder und dem damit verbundenen Potenzial zur Interaktion mit dem Zweirad. Außerdem organisieren und evaluieren wir einen 8-monatigen Feldtest, in dem Nutzer/-innen die neu entwickelten Zweiräder testen und die Potenziale dieser ermittelt werden.

EMotion (Electric Mobility in L-Category Vehicles for all generations) wird gefördert vom Klima- und Energiefonds im Rahmen der Förderschiene Zero Emission Mobility.