5G-MLab

Wireless networks need to be reliable for many applications. In this project we developed methods to measure the reliability of wireless networks.


5G, the 5th generation radio access network, is being rolled out in the year 2020. It allows innovative applications and can transform industries such as automotive, production, energy, and health. With 5G for the first time wireless communication does not only provide high data rates, but also low latency, scalability, and high reliability.

High reliability allows 5G to be used in safety-critical systems. The reliability of communication will be more important in many new use cases of wireless networks. In applications such as automated driving, industry 4.0 and smart grids even short losses of the ability to communicate can lead to extreme costs in form of missed production or blackouts. In extreme cases even lives may be at stake.

In the past Wireless communication has only been used for safety-critical communication in rare cases. More over, measuring whether a wireless network provides the necessary reliability is complex. Therefore, no methods have been developed that can measure the reliability of wireless communication systems.

In the 5G-Measurement Lab (5G-MLab) we developed methods to measure the reliability of 5G for critical applications. We also developed reference scenarios (automotive and industrial) and used them to validate methods to measure the reliability of wireless networks.

5G-MLab

Viele Anwendungen benötigen zuverlässige drahtlose Netze. In diesem Projekt entwickeln wir Methoden, um die Zuverlässigkeit von drahtlosen Netzen zu messen.

5G, die fünfte Generation der Mobilfunknetze, soll im Jahr 2020 verfügbar sein. Es wird innovative Anwendungen in Bereichen Automotive, Produktion, Energie und Gesundheit ermöglichen. Mit 5G wird drahtlose Kommunikation zum ersten Mal nicht nur hohe Datenraten, sondern auch niedrige Latenz, Skalierbarkeit und hohe Zuverlässigkeit bereitstellen.
Hohe Zuverlässigkeit wird es erlauben 5G auch in sicherheitskritischen Systemen einzusetzen.

Die Zuverlässigkeit der Kommunikation wird in vielen neuen Einsatzgebieten von drahtlosen Netzen wichtig sein. In Anwendungsgebieten, wie automatisiertem Fahren, Industrie 4.0 und Smart grids können auch kurze Ausfälle der Kommunikation zu hohen Kosten führen. Diese kann zum Beispiel durch Produktions- und Stromausfälle entstehen. In extremen Situationen können sogar Menschenleben gefährdet sein.

Bisher wurde drahtlose Kommunikation nur selten für sicherheitskritische Kommunikation eingesetzt. Außerdem ist es komplex zu messen, ob ein drahtloses Netz die nötige Zuverlässigkeit besitzt. Daher, wurden bisher keine Methoden entwickelt, die die Zuverlässigkeit von drahtlosen Systemen bestimmen können.

Im 5G-Messlabor (5G-MLab) werden wir Methoden entwickeln, welche die Zuverlässigkeit von 5G für kritische Anwendungen messen können. Wir definieren Referenzszenarien (automobil und industriell) und nutzen diese um Methoden zu entwickeln und zu verifizieren, die die Zuverlässigkeit von drahtlosen Netzen messen.