5G-AI-MLab

Digitisation in the areas of Industry 4.0 and autonomous driving is rapidly gaining in importance. Wireless communication networks form the necessary basis for this. Since their performance cannot be measured at all place and at all times, it will be necessary to predict performance.

For this purpose, in the 5G-AI-MLab we will determine which performance characteristics can be predicted how well on the basis of which data. We develop the fundamentals to estimate the quality of wireless communication (focus on 5G) both for points in time and for places where no measurements are made. The quality of the connections includes latency, data rate and reliability.

The main goal of the project is the integration of different information sources and the subsequent prediction based on this information. Examples of information sources are past measurements, reference measurements, network configuration parameters, current network information, base station positions and maps/sketches. For forecasting we will use machine learning methods.

In general, in the 5G-AI-MLab we want to develop the predictions that will allow us to predict the performance of wireless (5G) networks in the future. Such predictions are especially important for many future applications, especially networked vehicles and Industry 4.0.

5G-AI-MLab

Die Digitalisierung in den Bereichen Industrie 4.0 und autonomes Fahren gewinnt rasant an Bedeutung. Die notwendige Basis dafür bilden drahtlose Kommunikationsnetze. Da ihre Leistung nicht an jedem Ort zu jeder Zeit gemessen werden kann wird es nötig sein, die Leistung zu prognostizieren.

Hierzu werden wir im 5G-AI-MLab bestimmen, auf Basis welcher Daten sich welche Leistungseigenschaften wie qualitativ vorhersagen lassen. Wir werden Grundlagen erarbeiten, um die Qualität von drahtloser Kommunikation (Fokus auf 5G) sowohl für Zeitpunkte als auch für Orte an denen nicht gemessen wird, zu schätzen. Die Qualität der Verbindungen beinhaltet hierbei unter anderem Latenz, Datenrate und Zuverlässigkeit.

Das Hauptziel des Projekts ist die Integration von verschiedenartigen Informationsquellen und die anschließende Prognose auf Basis dieser Informationen. Beispiele für Informationsquellen sind vergangene Messungen, Referenzmessungen, Netzkonfigurationsparameter, aktuelle Netzinformationen, Basisstationspositionen und Karten/Skizzen. Zur Prognose werden wir Methoden des maschinellen Lernens verwenden.

Allgemein möchten wir im 5G-AI-MLab die Prognosen erarbeiten, mit denen in Zukunft die Leistung von drahtlosen (5G) Netzen vorhergesagt werden kann. Solche Vorhersagen sind besonders wichtig für viele zukünftige Einsatzbereiche, insbesondere vernetzte Fahrzeuge und Industrie 4.0.