Freude am Sport: Salzburg Research/Fotolia.com-mmphoto

Damit Sport Spaß macht: Smarte Sportprodukte

2018-12-12:

Sport should be fun – only then will it become an integral part of the lifestyle. That’s why not only speed, distance or height meters count, but above all the quality of the movement. In the new COMET project Digital Motion, industrial companies are developing smart sports equipment together with research institutes. Goal: more enjoyment of movement through an improved sports experience.

In order for sport to be fun, the basic conditions must be right: the shoe must not push, the equipment should be optimally adjusted. In order to make this possible, more and more digitization is finding its way into the sports industry: Modern sensor technologies and qualitative motion data analysis should help to improve the individual sports experience. The COMET project “Digital Motion” under the direction of Salzburg Research will explore how this works best in the next four years.

Even today, sensors capture many quantitative movement data: altitude meters, distance travelled, time, number of steps. But about the quality these data say little. The miniaturization and networking in the Internet of Things creates new opportunities: Sensors in the material or clothing can provide feedback on whether a carving swing was well drawn or slipped, whether there were unilateral loads, how much force was used and much more. The research project combines interdisciplinary know-how – from sports science to computer science to human-machine interaction. Not only is the quality of the human movement analysed, but also psychophysiological aspects. Added to this are the challenges of data communication and interaction as well as self-learning systems. All prototypes are tested under real conditions on the ski slope and on the running track. The goal is to promote the enjoyment of exercise in sports and everyday life through individually tailored equipment and coaching.

For the COMET project Digital Motion about four million Euros in research volume are available for the next four years. Half of this budget comes from the twelve industrial companies involved, the other half is funded by the Research Promotion Agency FFG and the Economic Department of the Province of Salzburg under the COMET program.

Contact person

Elisabeth Häusler
T: +43/662/2288-424,
Salzburg Research Forschungsgesellschaft mbH
Jakob Haringer Straße 5/3, A-5020 Salzburg

Damit Sport Spaß macht: Smarte Sportprodukte - Salzburg Research Forschungsgesellschaft
Freude am Sport: Salzburg Research/Fotolia.com-mmphoto

Damit Sport Spaß macht: Smarte Sportprodukte

2018-12-12:

Sport soll Spaß machen – nur so wird er zum integralen Bestandteil des Lifestyle. Darum zählen nicht nur Geschwindigkeit, zurückgelegte Stecke oder Höhenmeter, sondern vor allem die Qualität der Bewegung. Im neuen COMET-Projekt Digital Motion entwickeln Industriebetriebe gemeinsam mit Forschungseinrichtungen smarte Sport-Ausrüstung. Ziel: mehr Freude an der Bewegung durch ein verbessertes Sporterlebnis.
 
Damit Sport Spaß macht, müssen die Rahmenbedingungen stimmen: Der Schuh darf nicht drücken, die Ausrüstung sollte optimal angepasst sein. Um das zu ermöglichen, hält immer mehr Digitalisierung Einzug in die Sportbranche: Moderne Sensor-Technologien und qualitative Bewegungsdatenanalyse sollen helfen, um das individuelle Sporterlebnis zu verbessern. Wie das am besten gelingt, wird das COMET-Projekt „Digital Motion“ unter der Leitung von Salzburg Research in den kommenden vier Jahren erforschen.
 
Schon heute erfassen Sensoren viele quantitative Bewegungsdaten: Höhenmeter, zurückgelegte Strecke, Zeit, Schrittanzahl. Über die Qualität sagen diese Daten aber wenig aus. Durch die Miniaturisierung und Vernetzung im Internet der Dinge entstehen neue Möglichkeiten: Sensoren im Material oder in der Bekleidung können Feedback geben, ob ein Carving-Schwung gut durchgezogen oder eher gerutscht war, ob es zu einseitigen Belastungen kam, wieviel Kraft aufgewendet wurde und vieles mehr. Im Forschungsvorhaben fließt interdisziplinäres Know-how zusammen – von der Sportwissenschaft über die Informatik bis hin zur Mensch-Maschine-Interaktion. Analysiert werden nicht nur die Qualität der menschlichen Bewegung, sondern auch psychophysiologische Aspekte. Hinzu kommen Herausforderungen der Datenkommunikation und -interaktion sowie selbstlernende Systeme. Alle Prototypen werden unter realen Bedingungen auf der Skipiste und auf der Laufstrecke getestet. Ziel ist, die Freude an der Bewegung im Sport und im Alltag durch individuell angepasste Ausrüstung und Coaching zu fördern.
 
Für das COMET-Projekt Digital Motion stehen für die kommenden vier Jahre etwa vier Millionen Euro Forschungsvolumen zur Verfügung. Die Hälfte dieses Budgets stammt von den beteiligten zwölf Industrieunternehmen, die andere Hälfte wird von der Forschungsförderungsgesellschaft FFG und vom Wirtschaftsressort des Landes Salzburg im Rahmen des COMET-Programms gefördert.
 

Ansprechperson

Elisabeth Häusler
T: +43/662/2288-424,
Salzburg Research Forschungsgesellschaft mbH
Jakob Haringer Straße 5/3, A-5020 Salzburg